Gluten-Free Easter Candy

Happy Easter Friends!

Today was a reminder that I have not even started to think of all the things in my life that must change to remain gluten-free. A holiday like Easter definitely keeps me in check. Considering I am a kid at heart, I really wanted an Easter basket to munch on. Thankfully, my mother did not disappoint. However, she did face the challenge of finding all gluten-free candies for me. Sorry Mom!

She got me Peeps, Cadbury eggs filled with caramel and chocolate, and Reese’s, which are all gluten-free options! She found that the hardest part of the process was finding a gluten-free bunny. We found out that most Easter bunnies are “manufactured in a facility that processes wheat.” As a Celiac, that is not an option. It was frustrating that all of Russell Stovers bunnies contained gluten, considering they make probably 90 percent of the Easter bunnies at Walmart.

After a long search, we found that the Snickers Peanut Butter bunny was gluten-free, so all ended well. To all my gluten-free eaters out there, remember that a normal life is possible. It just takes a little more effort!

Also, I hope all of my readers had a wonderful Easter, and I hope you have a great week ahead of you.

Advertisements