Alfredo Spaghetti Squash {Gluten-Free}

Last weekend, I went to my first (and last) farmers market of the summer season with a few of my friends. Sad, I know, considering it is already fall. I really enjoyed it, and there were lots of great fresh food options for us gluten-free folks. I even got to daydreaming about opening my own booth and selling gluten-free treats next summer. Wouldn’t that be fun?

Anyway, we came across a stand that was selling squash, and I immediately thought of this recipe that I found on Pinterest by Family Fresh Meals. You’ve probably seen it too. It looks really good. So… I bought the squash.

Honestly, I was expecting it to taste pretty bad. I have only heard negative reviews from friends and family members, so my hopes were not very high.

I was surprised at how much I liked the spaghetti squash. Don’t get me wrong, it was not as good as regular alfredo pasta, but I would make it again. And if you want to try spaghetti squash, this is probably the recipe you should try.

Ingredients

  • 1 or 2 spaghetti squash
  • 1 jar alfredo sauce (I used Classico, because it says “gluten-free” right on the jar)
  • 1 1/2 cups of shredded mozzarella cheese
  • salt and pepper to taste

Steps

1.  Preheat oven at 350 degrees.

2.  Place the washed squash on a rimmed baking sheet. Cut 2-3 vents in the squash by poking it with a sharp knife. I was surprised at how hard this part was. Squash has tough skin.

Image

3.  Bake the squash for 60-65 minutes. Remove from oven and let rest for 10-15 minutes.

4.  Cut squash in half, length-wise, and scoop out the seeds.

Image

5.  With a fork, shred the inside of the squash. This is the step where you form the ‘noodles.’ Season with salt and pepper.

Image

6.  Mix half a jar of alfredo sauce in with each half of the squash’s noodles. Top with shredded cheese.

Image

7.  Place squash under broiler for 2-3 minutes until the cheese is melty.

Image

8.  Serve and enjoy.

Leave a Reply

