Monster Cookies {gluten-free}

I’ve been meaning to share this recipe for a long time, but I’ve been waiting until I had the chance to actually make the cookies, so that I could take pictures of the process. Since we had a pretty calm weekend last week, I hit the kitchen.

These are my favorite cookies, EVER. This recipe is similar to my chocolate chip, oatmeal, peanut butter cookies, but better. It comes from Paula Deen’s Monster Cookies recipe. I made a few minor adjustments, so that they are gluten-free (and so that they are more chocolaty).

I like this recipe, because you don’t have to go out and find a lot of gluten-free substitutes. The only ingredient that needs to be switched out is the oats. Not only is this convenient and easy on the budget, but they taste great too.

Ingredients (makes 3 dozen cookies)

  • 3 eggs
  • 1 1/4 cups packed light brown sugar
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 12-ounce jar creamy peanut butter
  • 1 stick butter, softened
  • 1/2 bag multi-colored chocolate m&m’s
  • 1/2 bag chocolate chips
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 4 1/2 cups gluten-free quick-cooking oats

Steps

1.  Preheat oven at 350 ° F.

2.  In a large mixing bowl, combine eggs and sugars. Mix well.

IMG_1068

3.  Add the salt, vanilla, peanut butter and butter. Mix well
IMG_1080

4.  Stir in the m&m’s, chocolate chips, baking soda and oatmeal.

IMG_1087

5.  Drop large spoonfuls several inches apart onto a greased cookie sheet.
IMG_1111

6.  Bake for 10 minutes. Do not over-bake. The cookies will appear soft and not fully cooked. As they cool, they will firm up.

IMG_1153

7. Enjoy.

This recipe makes a lot of cookies. Score. But in the off chance that you don’t want to have a bunch of cookies sitting around, you can freeze these cookies and save them for later. They are still delicious.

6 responses

  1. I was diagnosed with celiac about two weeks ago. I live in St. Louis and just found your blog. I would love to get more advice from you about your journey to eliminate gluten.

  2. Silly question. What size bag of M&M’s, Not sure if I missed it or not. And I’m assuming 1/2 of regular bag of chocolate chips. I so want to make them.

Leave a Reply

