Top 3 Gluten-Free Fast Food Options (other than salad)

When I was first diagnosed with Celiac Disease, one of the hardest things I had to deal with was figuring out what I could eat on-the-run, when traveling or when I was feeling lazy.

I quickly learned that Wendy’s has several gluten-free options. Recently, I decided to do a little more research and learned that there are in fact other options out there. YES!

Here is my list of the top three fast food restaurants that offer gluten-free options:

Wendy’s

Like I mentioned, Wendy’s was the first fast food restaurant I found with gluten-free options. They have chili, great salads and several other choices for gluten-free eaters.

I almost always order a chili-cheese baked potato. I like this option, because it is a lot cheaper than a salad, and it really fills me up.

IMG_0796

I also enjoy getting a frosty. It is so satisfying and great on a hot summer day.

IMG_0800

According to Wendy’s website, which has a very impressive gluten-free section, their fries are also gluten-free.

Chick-Fil-A

I also found out the Chick-Fil-A offers a few options that are gluten-free. First, Chick-Fil-A has a few gluten-free salads to choose from. I normally order the Market Fresh Salad. It definitely does not taste like something you would get from a fast food restaurant, because it really does taste fresh.

IMG_0880

Second, I was very excited when I found out that Chick-Fil-A’s waffle fries are gluten-free. So rather than just getting a salad, you can also get fries. There is just something so satisfying about their waffle fries. According to their website, they even fry them their own fryer so you don’t have to worry about cross-contamination.

IMG_0885

Taco Bell

The third fast food restaurant that I found to have a good gluten-free option is Taco Bell. When I was first diagnosed with Celiac Disease, I was sure that Taco Bell would be safe for me, since mexican food is a staple in the gluten-free diet. Sadly, that is not so. Turns out Taco Bell’s beef is not gluten-free (kinda makes me wonder why – hmm…).

However, Taco Bell recently came out with the Chicken Cantina Bowl, and according to their website it does not contain gluten. Score.

IMG_0709

* I had a hard time locating a gluten-free menu for McDonalds, but my overall gut feeling is to avoid them all together. If I have to go to McDonalds, I normally get a smoothie or a fruit and yogurt parfait (without the oats.)

4 responses

Leave a Reply

