3 Tips For Surviving Gluten-Free Holidays

I am happy to report that I have successfully made it through my first ‘holiday’ season as a diagnosed Celiac! It was not nearly as hard as I imagined it would be. But if I was going to offer tips to my fellow gluten-free folks, I would have three suggestions:

1. Always offer to bring a dish when going to a guest’s house to eat. 

This is a great way to know that there will be something gluten-free for you to eat. You can even bring two dishes if you want to have options. Don’t go the easy route and only bring dessert. Make sure what you bring will be enough to fill you up for the evening, so you aren’t miserable…and ‘hangry.’

2. Bake gluten-free treats for your co-workers, family and friends.

This is the perfect time of year to show off how delicious gluten-free food can be. Even though there are tons of great options out there, most people think that gluten-free eaters are deprived. Prove them wrong by bringing the best gluten-free recipe you’ve got!

3. Mentally prepare to ‘turn down’ all the gluten-filled desserts offered to you.

This can be really hard, especially for new gluten-free eaters. Although the cake and cookies look good right now, your health is your first priority. Its not worth jeopardizing your diet for temporary (and I mean very temporary) satisfaction.

Also, as a side note, I finally got my Face of Gluten Free Contest finalist shirt in the mail! I literally jumped for joy when I opened the package. I have never felt more proud to be gluten-free!

IMG_0154

Leave a Reply

