Gluten-Free Tip: Keep A Sweet With You At All Times!

I am officially one week into my gluten-free diet, and I have made it through with only one major temptation. I have had numerous minor temptations, but they have been easy to overcome. For example, I have three gluten-eating roommates. When I walk upstairs into the kitchen and see a bag of pretzels opened, I have moments when I forget I can no longer eat them. As soon as I start to walk over to the bag and grab a handful, I am reminded by the annoying voice in my head that those pretzels are not gluten-free. I sulk for a moment, and then move on to my trail mix or cheese sticks.

However, I did experience my first strong desire to cheat on my gluten-free diet. It was unbelievable. I got to the office for my internship and went into the conference room for a staff meeting. Sitting in the middle of the table was a half-eaten, decadent double-layer-chocolate-cake with a cherry filled center. It smelled and looked incredible. To make matters worse, I unknowingly picked the chair right in front of the cake, so it was staring at me the entire meeting. Lucky for me, no one in the office was eating the cake at the time, because that would have been too much for me to handle. In the end, I resisted the urge, but I have come to the conclusion that I need to leave some chocolates in my purse for situations like this. I do not want to feel as though I am depriving myself. Nor do I want to seem like ‘that’ girl who always turns down cake!

As for the rest of my week, I have made it through without any major problems, and I have come up with lots of blog topics, so stay tuned for those. Also, I am starting to develop a routine, and I am becoming comfortable with this drastic life change I am undergoing. I understand that I do not really have a choice, so I need to learn to love it.

2 responses

Leave a Reply

